Never pay for green onions again

 

I just came across this tip and was hesitant at first, but it actually does work! If you are on a budget like me, saving a few dollars is always a plus!

So here it is….
The next time you have green onions, don’t throw away the white ends. Simply submerge them in a glass of water and place them in a sunny window. Your onions will begin to grow almost immediately and can be harvested almost indefinitely. Why buy green onions at the store if you can just grow your own at home!

5 thoughts on “Never pay for green onions again

  1. I had heard this works and that it doesn’t but i think I will try it since we use them but they are so expensive that I usually don’t bother. ty for reaffirming and sharin yoru experience

    • I heard the same. I actually tried it a few months ago but am just posting about it now. I am not sure if the weather had anything to do with it but I stuck it it infront of the window during the summer and had great success! Also felt great using my own “home grown” product. My version of having a green thumb 😉

  2. I actually took the white bottoms with the roots still attached and planted them in my herb garden. I called it the Stonehenge of Scallions. They were most of last summer until the desert sun (I live in Phoenix) fried everything. Amazingly, I think they’re coming back. Even though its January, I see some skinny ones back there now.

Leave a Reply

